Wednesday, November 06, 2013

Team Defends Big Ten Team Race Trophy

The University of Michigan Sailing Team hosted their annual Big Ten Team Race regatta November 3rd and 4th.  Competing in the regatta were two teams from the University of Michigan, two teams from the University of Wisconsin, and one team from Northwestern University.  Visiting teams arrived Friday night and attended a social event hosted by Michigan before racing Saturday morning.

Start of a race between Wisconsin A + B
The teams arrived at Baseline Lake ready to sail early Saturday morning.  The conditions were 8-10 knots of wind out of the north, 47 degree temperatures, little chop, and some freezing rain.  Michigan’s A team (Maize) consisted of Ryan Seago ’14 and Emily Gazall ’16, Will Cyr ’14 and Tori Noble ’17, and Alex Ramos ’15 and Karinne Smolenyak ’14.  Their B team (Wolverines) was comprised of Ryan Davidson ’15 and Katie Ried ’15, Alex Mayo ’15 and Kendall Witmer ’15, and Taylor Bradford ’15 and Mitch Kimball ’17.  On Saturday, two round robins consisting of 10 races each were completed with Maize winning every one of their races and the Wolverines winning two races against Northwestern. 

Sunday’s regatta conditions boasted temperatures of nearly 45 degrees and wind blowing out of the east at 6-8 knots.  One more round robin was completed, with Maize winning every race and the Wolverines putting forth a good effort.  All of the teams sailed well despite the cold and shifty conditions.  Excellent boat speed and team-racing tactics were displayed throughout the regatta by all teams.  Overall, Michigan Maize took first place winning all twelve of their races, Wisconsin’s A and B team took second and third respectively, and the Michigan Wolverines beat Northwestern in a tiebreaker for fourth place. 
1st place team- Michigan "Maize"

Thank you to all of the teams that came out and to our umpires Dr. Shoemaker and Austin Kana. A big thank you to our team volunteers that helped run a smooth regatta, with David Oliver as regatta coordinator, Tom Etheridge and Braden Engstrom on Race Committee, Ansley Semack, Liz Wallace, Sarah Sloan, and Connor Shope on the finish boat, and Liz Smith, Zackary Frankel, and Hubbard Velie on mark set.  Go blue!
-Emily Gazall '16