Thursday, October 09, 2014

Cary-Price Memorial Regatta

The team hosted six MCSA teams at Baseline for our first home regatta of the season this past weekend.  Michigan State, Purdue, Ohio State University, Miami of Ohio, Michigan Tech, and Western Michigan University traveled to Ann Arbor to try to compete in the Cary-Price Memorial Regatta.

Eight A division and six B division races were completed on Saturday in chilly, windy conditions.  With Purdue leading the A Division and Michigan leading the B Division, the teams went home to relax and catch up on college football.

Sunday's weather was slightly sunnier and warmer than the previous day, with teams returning at 9 AM to finish two more A Division races and four races in Bs.

The racing was competitive and close, but Michigan came out on top for the third year in a row. A Division sailors Thomas Ethridge and Liz Wallace (eight races) and Taylor Bradford and Sarah Sloan (two races) placed first, and Mason Wolters and Alison Bradley (six races), Kendall Witmer (two races), and Emily Tunila (two races) claimed first place in the B Division with a straight picket fence, placing first every race.  Purdue came in second overall after beating Ohio State in a tie-breaker, with OSU coming in third.

A huge thank you to all the team members and Michigan Sailing Club members who came to help run the regatta (and providing us with soup and hot chocolate!), especially Kendall Witmer for orchestrating breakfast and lunch on Saturday and Sunday as well as organizing awards for the top three teams, Ryan Davidson for working as Race Committee, Braden Engstrom and Tyler Davidson for operating the crash boat, Paul Townsend for acting as Principal Race Officer, and George Griswold for acting as judge.

Congratulations to all competitors and Go Blue!